• But Men Loved Darkness rather than Light  πŸ”ˆ (baritone voice & piano) 4 min.

Poem by Richard Crashaw, 1646. A sarcastic art song about eternal judgment.

  • He Wrote Me a Poem – Samuel Lord Kalcheim, arr. Denney πŸ”ˆ (mezzo-soprano voice & chamber orchestra) 3 min.​

Lyrics by Lee Kalcheim. An arrangement of a song from the musical American Gothic.

​​All text is from the last words spoken by various male American inmates who were executed between 1919 and 2019.

  • A Proud Lady  πŸ”ˆ β€‹(SATB chorus a cappella) 3 min.

​Poem by Elinor Wylie, 1921. A work about women overcoming adversity.

  • Psalm 16: a michtam of David (SATB chorus a cappella) 5 min.

  • staying in and looking out (SATB chorus)

Poem by Jessie Vail Aufiery, 2019.​

  • SIGNS YOU ARE A PEOPLE-PLEASER (baritone voice & cello) 4 min.

Text from various internet sources. The signs one might be a people-pleaser are sung, with the cellist representing the internal monologue of the singer as frustration and panic builds.

  • ​​Unwilting (soprano, mezzo-soprano, cello, & piano) 5 min.

​Poem by Dona McCormack, 2011.​​

  • When Awake (SSAATTBB chorus & prepared piano) 8 min.

A work that explores choral textures and the phonetic sounds of short phrases about dreaming. The simple prepared piano part involves pencils, paper, and aluminum foil.


composer / arranger / engraver

orchestral / large ensemble music

Morgan ​denney

Vocal / choral music

instrumental chamber / solo music

Contact Morgan for inquiries about commissions, arrangement requests, and acquiring pre-existing scores and parts.

  • ​Confessions From a Non-Quiet Mind  πŸ”ˆβ€‹ (full orchestra) 8 min.

This work depicts the constant noise and thoughts in one’s mind, often unwanted.

  • Images of Eleven People (full orchestra) 25 min.  movement 1 πŸ”ˆβ€‹ movement 5 πŸ”ˆβ€‹

​Each movement is a musical depiction of a person.

  • ​Inconveniences  πŸ”ˆ (chamber orchestra) 6 min. ​

​A work depicting the frustrating feeling of obligatory and menial tasks.

  • NEW! Romance & Tango  πŸ”ˆβ€‹(violin and full orchestra) 14 min.

A lighthearted, dramatic, & melodic violin showcase ending in a tango.

  • Notwithstanding πŸ”ˆβ€‹ (full orchestra) 7 min. 

A work exploring long melodies and various ways of treating them within a large ensemble.

  • SO MUCH SO: a suite for chamber ensembles  πŸ”ˆβ€‹ (sinfonietta) 40 min. 

​A spatial, seven-part theme and variations for sinfonietta ensemble and smaller combinations thereof. Melodic fragments, harmonic developments, and changes in texture are the overall ideas among the variations. Within the piece, community and individuality are displayed and developed.​​

  • ​Air β€‹ πŸ”ˆ (oboe & string quartet) 9 min.

A work for oboe soloist with string accompaniment, exploring lush harmonies and lyrical melody.

  • Beneath the Text  πŸ”ˆ (2 violins, viola, & bass clarinet) 30 min.

Live music for an aerial dance performance choreographed by Sonya Smith.

  • Duet for Violin and Viola  β€‹πŸ”ˆ 8 min.

  • Effusion β€‹(flute) 3 min. 

  • En Masse  πŸ”ˆ (12+ violins & 8+ violas) 9 min. 

A work exploring the textures and spatial effects of a large group of violins and violas.

​This work is a small celebration of nonsense, femininity, and the piccolo. The title is taken from Plato, who disliked wind instruments and dismissed women playing them as β€œfrivolous nonsense.”

​A work about the three classified forms of absent-mindedness: I. Hyperfocus, II. Zoning Out, and III. Unwarranted Distractions by Irrelevant Thoughts. The ensemble represents an individual mind as a whole. 

  • Halls of Air (flute) 2 min.

  • How Are You?: a conversation between acquaintances  πŸ”ˆ (bassoon & double bass) 6 min.

A humorous, instrumental transcription of a fictional dialogue between two acquaintances.

  • Pavane  πŸ”ˆ (oboe, alto flute, English horn, & bassoon) 6 min.

An exploration of harmonic language and woodwind textures.

  • Romance & Tango πŸ”ˆ (violin & piano) 14 min. 

A lighthearted, dramatic, & melodic duet ending in a tango.

  • Rovescio β€‹ πŸ”ˆ (string quartet) 15 min.

A string quartet in three movements, exploring texture and phrasing.​

  • SO MUCH SO: a suite for chamber ensembles πŸ”ˆ (sinfonietta) 40 min.

​A spatial, seven-part theme and variations for sinfonietta ensemble and smaller combinations thereof. Melodic fragments, harmonic developments, and changes in texture are the overall ideas among the variations. Within the piece, community and individuality are displayed and developed.

  • Strained (flute, clarinet, horn, trumpet, bass drum, viola, & cello) 8 min.

  • String Trio (violin, viola, & cello) 12 min.

  • Syrah (violin, cello, & piano) 8 min.

A work that explores textures and octatonic/whole tone scales. Two movements: I. Backbone and II. Aftertaste.

  • Two Brass Moods (brass quintet) 8 min.

  • White-Knuckling πŸ”ˆ (cello) 8 min. 

A solo work which depicts the feeling of frustration over unreached goals.​​​​

  • All Mixed Up (Grade 3 string orchestra) 4 min.

A Mixolydian theme & variations for beginning strings.

Depicting a scenic drive up the historic first road in Rocky Mountain National Park, this highly accessible work is based on a D major scale with stepwise motion in all parts and string crossings on open strings. Musical motifs are shared throughout the ensemble as the beauty of nature takes center stage in this peaceful, yet joyful work. 


Expand the reach of your holiday program with this wonderful arrangement of the medieval carol Personet Hodie (β€œLet resound today” in Latin). Often relegated to choir, this version for strings and percussion showcases bold, powerful lines and a strong rhythmic backdrop. An excellent addition to any winter program.​

​This arrangement of In the Bleak Midwinter captures the sentiment of the holidays by placing Holst’s beautiful melody in a lush string orchestra atmosphere. Each section contributes with lyrical motives and nuanced harmonies while students have the opportunity to practice bow distribution, tone, and balance.

  • Saltarello - Att. to Vincenzo Galilei, arr. Denney πŸ”ˆ (Grade 1.5 string orchestra) 3 min.

This lively triple-meter dance from the 16th century is very popular with classical guitarists and is now a wonderful addition to the string orchestra repertoire. Pizzicato accompaniments interact with a playful melody that is cleverly developed throughout the ensemble. A delightful work, perfect as a change-of-pace on any program.

Experience this poignant folk song about loneliness and desire that builds from a solitary melody to an emotional, harmony-driven climax. Smooth textures and flowing melodies meld seamlessly with dramatic phrases as the work develops. An inspiring and unique arrangement of a delightful folk song.

  • Winter AireTraditional Scottish, arr. Denney πŸ”ˆ (Grade 1.5 string orchestra) 4 min.​

This arrangement of the traditional Scottish song "Gloomy Winter's Noo Awa'" is a perfect change of pace for a winter program. Winter Aire has highly accessible parts in first position that allow students to work on smooth bow strokes, legato melodic lines, and dotted quarter-eighth note rhythms in E minor. A poignant addition to your winter-themed concert!

  • ​​​Wooden Fable (Grade 2.5 string orchestra) 3-4 min.

​Each performer is their own β€œcharacter” in this dramatic string orchestra piece with a story-like structure and improvisational sections, giving students the opportunity to create their own correlating narratives and play independent parts.​